home plates


I was not born with an inclination towards organization. Wait, no, the inclination has always been there, it’s the application that has been the issue. I love a clean house (and even cleaning that house) and I enjoy peaceful and tidy spaces. I am bothered by clutter or dirtiness or wet shoes on my clean floor, but I’m never sure how to deal with the ‘little bits’; notes to myseld, mail, paper work, project in motion, etc. AND, I have a tendency to forget where I placed small-somethings (keys, passport, glassed; you know, the small things of great importance).

With this in mind…
(As should be apparent by now)I LOVE to work with food. Unfortunately, I am sometimes so enamoured by all the possible menu choices that I leave everything to the last and we have eggs on toast. (Or nachos. Jeremy’s always okay with the nachos.) But anyways! In an effort to conquer this sad state I tried writing out meal ideas and menus. However, the realities of paragraph one (losing small things like paperwork) really worked against me. I needed to know what I had to work with, remember what we actually enjoyed, and plan it out in a fashion which worked for me before I fell asleep in the mixing bowl.

SO, in an effort towards increased organization with the little and time-consuming and mind-bending actions and efforts of the day, I made Meal Plan Magnets! And I am oh so impressed 😉 Using tiny rectangles of magnetic tape and writing out all our regular and favourite meals (lentil patties, red curry, frank’s sandwiches…), along with add-ons and qualifiers (sprouts, chicken, lentils…), onto the white part, I set up a little menu planning board on the fridge door. I can see my options, think through variations, lay out something that could work for the week, and go from there.

Jeremy walked by, saw what was for supper (exclaimed with appropriate expressions of pleasure), and then promptly added the ‘nachoes’ magnet to Sunday’s plan. Clever man 😉 I need to pick up some more magnets (and I actually had to put other sticky white labels on them so the marker would write on them), but I think it will be a good system for us.

What do you think? How do you approach healthy eating within your family (and self!), especially on those busy days and snug budgets? Could this system work for you? Happy weekend!!!

Comments
16 Responses to “home plates”
  1. Kimberly says:

    I suffer from not being able to find my plans because I can’t find the paper they are written on. I love this idea. I would love to see pictures.

    • Dea' says:

      Thanks Kimberly!
      Ha, I actually took pictures last night but since it was nearing midnight and I didn’t want to light up the house they were pretty sketchy! 😉 I’ll try again soon 🙂
      (thanks for reading and interacting!)

  2. Ang says:

    Deanna, I don’t have any great suggestions (since my issue tends to be lacking in motivation to actually DO the meal planning–once that’s done I’m off and running) but I just wanted to say that you’re a fabulous writer. There are a lot of blogs out there, and when I found yours I think I read 5 posts in one sitting. 🙂 Sounds to me like you’re living a rich life. Awesome.
    Cheers.
    Ang (Bond) Affinito

    • Dea' says:

      Thanks Ang, how encouraging!
      I feel like I’m finally stepping up to the writing I’ve been thinking about for so many years and I’m crazy excited about the community that’s stemming from it. Thanks for reading and commenting; looking forward to more interactions 🙂
      (aw, do you really it’s almost exactly a decade ago that we wanadered onto that Kona campus? Who knew what was coming!)

  3. sadie says:

    that’s a GREAT idea!! I just made out a weekly meal plan and magneted it to the fridge, but this is so clever!

    • Dea' says:

      Thanks sades!
      I find that this system lends greater flexibility. If something changes you don’t have to write up a whole new plan, and everything is always in reach to think through and play with. It also invites interaction from the rest of the family as they can add on suggestions.
      (hmm…a business/etsy idea would be to print them out nicely and sell them in packs!)

  4. sadie says:

    hey, you should totally sell them!

  5. Lola says:

    Oh dear, I would love to get my hiney into gear when it comes to meal planning. Good idea with the magnets. I’m such a flighty, disorganized girl so the only reason we have healthy meals is because we only buy healthy groceries and thus, have only that to work with. But some nights are a little slapped together if you know what I mean. We eat a high fat diet so I don’t tend to have to think about that which makes it easy putting things together. We had oatmeal with coconut milk, grass fed butter, sea salt and maple syrup for dinner the other night 🙂 um… it has fiber, maybe a little too sweet but the kids will live. Haha.

  6. Kmarie says:

    I love it Dea. Beautiful and organized ( your blog) So I made organic muffins yesterday with pureed cauliflower and carrots and lots of dried fruit…my kids love them! Then I proceeded to make squares with blueberry and spinach ( Yup 2 cups of spinach) sounds gross for baking but it wasn’t all that bad. The book Deceptively Delicious is helping me. I want to see pictures too because I cannot visualize your plan.
    You know I also love that the blogs you read are not right on this side…I wish blogger would do that! That way people don’t feel left out if their blogs are not on your site or judge you by who you read…I want to know more about this blog site- so email me when you have the time:)
    Love ya

    • Dea' says:

      Hey! Thanks K’ 🙂 WordPress is pretty great! It’s free (always a plus!) and has the option of adding multiple pages (which was the selling feature for me as I LOVE how I can set up background and profiles and such). As for limits…. The template isn’t as flexible for ‘look and feel’ and I’m not sure how well it meshes with other platforms as for as ‘following’ or ‘subscribing’ to other blogs. I’d love some of the TypePad options like showcasig favorite books or adding in boxes of info like copyright, upcoming events, or links. Unfortunately, I found TypePad too difficult to work with so I cancelled it and moved here. You should check it out, wordpress.com. Once you get into it it’s pretty great 🙂

      (Oh! And yay for Dec’ Delicious! So fun and simple and clever 🙂 )

    • Lola says:

      You silly goose “Kmaire”… the reason you aren’t on my side bar is because I never put anyone on my side bar who is really concerned with confidentiality. Don’t deny it 🙂 you were sad you weren’t on mine 🙂 If you don’t mind, I’ll put you on there but not unless you ask me too. love you! See ya Sunday.

  7. Lola says:

    Oh, and the baking WAS really good.

  8. sadie says:

    Dea,
    couple things, first in your ‘about’ section, 3rd paragraph you misspelled ‘enjoying’ and ‘shop’. Annoying that I mentioned this, but I only do because I KNOW you’d want to know! AND I can’t believe you didn’t mention java in your ‘treats’ section!!

    Also, I picked up some mung beans!!! So what is the flavor like raw?? I’ve been experimenting with this power bar recipe, but it needs more protein!! It’s high in fat with the coconut oil and almonds, and I add raisins or figs for fiber, but it really needs something for protein and I didn’t want to go the dry milk route. Shawn eats cliff bars a lot ‘on the go’ much to my dismay, and i’m trying to find a better alternative, but so far he says these bars are a good snack but not meal supplement material. So I was thinking of adding the sprouted mungs, what do you think?

    • Dea' says:

      oh wow! Thanks so much Sades! That kind of thing DOES bug me and happens much too frequently for my liking 😦

      Great work on the sprouts!!! The raw flavour is just like a fresh garden pea-out-of-the-pod. Jer actually digs into them quite frequently when they’re raw and waiting in the fridge (he likes snap peas and stuff too, so it’s along that flavour).
      I checked out the powerbar recipe and I’m totally unsure if they would blend well or not! They WOULD add texture, protein, fibre, and ‘filler’, but you would want to watch that they didn’t get to ‘salady’. Maybe adding them before the sprouts are too developed? Like after one day of soaking? Hmm…. Maybe a smaller trial batch to see? Good luck!

      (BTW, I wore the short scarf on our morning outing this morning and it was fantastic!) 🙂

  9. Kmarie says:

    Hey thanks Dee!
    And Lola- you are so great at picking up on things…but You are right I asked people NOT to put me on their blogs (My private one) and then just the other day I decided to allow my public site to be seen…I don’t know what I want really but Ha ha- you are cute.
    I was also thinking of someone I know who only reads blogs that certain people recommend and that is it- while I think she should read whatever speaks to her:)
    Oh and Dee/ Dea – This speaks to me…as does your’s Lolita:)

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,284 hits
  • Top Rated

