Hashed Roots


I love a great plate loaded with vitamins, fibre, color, and of course, flavour! With breakfast being a major event in our family, I’m always looking for more creative ways to feed us up. Recently, we’ve added ‘hashed roots’ and they’re a great addition to the morning.
First, I grate  potatoes, yams, carrots, and whatever other colorful roots have on hand (beets, turnips…anything you could mash together for a twisted thanksgiving plate). Next, I rinse them in a colander under cold water and squeeze out excess moisture (this is an important step or else it all just gums up with potato starch). Finally, I toss them into a hot pan with some olive oil and garlic, and pan fry for about 15 minutes. Served with farm eggs and sprouted toast it’s balanced, tasty, and filling.
The concoction has been well received by the men-folk and helps us make it until noon without a total fridge raid. Oh, and to make it easier, do the grating and rinsing the night before, it really helps. (These are also great mixed with eggs and a bit of milk, flour, and green onion for a colorful latke-type thing).

How do you fill your family (and yourself!) in the morning? What are you trying to introduce or blend into your diet which can be used during the morning meal?
Let me know if you try out these crazy roots or if you have any further ideas with them. Enjoy!

Comments
5 Responses to “Hashed Roots”
  1. Anonymous says:

    Tried plantains? Mashed plantains are tasty. Like a banana, less sugar, lots of vitamins and fiber. Yummers.

    C

  2. Kimberly says:

    My favorite breakfast food for filling up tummies until lunch is oat groats. I love to cook oat groats overnight in the crockpot and then top with all sorts of things. My favorite topping combination is blueberries, pecans, a bit of sweetner of your choice, and a bit of cream. I bet your hashed roots would be good over the top of oat groats with a little maple syrup and some nuts. Nut butters are also good mixed in.

    I’ll have to give the hashed roots a try – sounds good.

  3. sadie says:

    I love your food blogs so much! you are so creative with food. So I tried this, this morning. I used red potato, sweet potato, carrot and kohlrabi and pan fried them in coconut oil with spices. I loved it, but Levi was less than enthused. Oh well, I’ll keep trying!

    My favorite thing to serve for breakfast is egg/veggie scrammble and muffins that I make up the night before. This is my favorite muffin recipe right now. http://www.neohippiemama.com/?p=528

  4. Delynne says:

    you need to put the recipe for your AMAZING oats/sprouts/apple/walnut breakfast on!

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,299 hits
  • Top Rated

