those birthday cupcakes


Awhile back, I posted about Jeremiah’s rhubarb birthday cupcakes. Several of you wanted the recipe, so here it is.
Disclaimer: This isn’t a finished work. I usually avoid white flour, sugar, and fat in my baking (yes, it’s possible!) but was out of apple sauce and whwh flour and wanted something that stated ‘cupcake’ more than ‘muffin’. (I started from the original/base recipe at http://cupcakemuffin.blogspot.com/2008/05/rhubarb-cupcakes.html )

Rhubarb Birthday Cupcakes
1 cup flour (I used white wheat but this is screaming for experimentation!)
1/2 cup brown sugar
¼ cup butter, soft
1 cup milk (I used 2%, though I think anything would work. Full fat coconut milk could be nice…)
1-2 cups finely diced rhubarb (I just kept choppin’ and dumpin’)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs

1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Cream together butter and sugar in a large bowl. Add egg and vanilla, and beat until completely combined.
3. In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add to the butter mixture along with the milk and beat until well combined. Fold in the rhubarb.
4. Divide batter among 12 muffin cups. Bake 12-15 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Make sure the cupcakes are baked all the way through as they are very moist.

I frosted mine with a fluffy cream cheese icing, which was yummers! I also saw a meringue-type frosting using syrup made from boiling the rhubarb in sugar water. It looked quite time consuming but I think the general idea could be applied to an everyday icing; basically, chop and boil rhubarb with a bit of water and some sugar until pink, cool, mix in with the powdered sugar and some butter and wow, pink rhubarb’y frosting!
In the end, Jeremiah loved them and Jeremy finished the batch when I left the room; all signs of success! I think I have a picking or two left of the rhubarb patch out here. I want to finish it off and get some more diced and frozen for the months ahead. Hmm…and some moist crumble-topped rhubarb muffins sound fun for tomorrow!

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,300 hits
  • Top Rated

