get away


Our day away was perfect.

Places: splash park, beach, play ground, winery, mountain/lake/vineyard highways, brother/sister visit.
Menu: roasted organic chicken, homemade rustic bread, treasured organic Greek olives which were oh so good, homemade pesto, grapes and cheese, potato salad and garden veggies.
Random: picked up tree-ripened picked-this-morning nectarines on the way home. They tasted like honey and sunshine and wine. Incredible. I also snagged some pretty romas for pizza tomorrow, and some just-picked apples for my insomnia moments. I love living in a region where you can see your produce growing all around you and make beautiful choices for your family’s plates.

We drove and splashed and played and ate and enjoyed. I sure do love this province. At one point, the boys were playing in the park and I was wading in the lake (nibbling the last of those treasured olives…) and I just stopped and looked. There were vineyards on the other shore and happy sun-kissed kiddos running around, and the water was so clear that I could see the pebbles and the little fingerling trout darting about. It felt like the Mediterranean, or what I imagine that could feel like.

We’re home on the ranch now. It’s about 15 degrees cooler on our mountain than it was in the wine valley. Rain clouds are brooding over the lake, Jeremiah is running around in big-boy-boxers and winter boots, and I’m about to go bake a sweet and sauce blackberry-nectarine crisp. (Note: I fear my amazing caution with food and carbs this pregnancy is suddenly shifting into “fruit and carbs now!!!”. Hence, crispy warm berry dessert for us this evening…. I just hope I don’t balloon into some terrifying creature these last weeks. Oh dear!).
Anyways!
So yes. We’re home and evening is here. The ranch is fairly busy and, as has become our custom in recent months, we’re going to stay tucked away. Our crisp will be served with a new’ish BBC feature (“The Way We Live Now”, anyone watching it?) once kiddo is in bed. Tomorrow means baking bread and soup and pizza, harvesting potatoes and carrots, and hiding away a little bit more.

I wish you all a most beautiful weekend as you savour these last days of summer and sunshine…..

Our day away was perfect.

Places: splash park, beach, play ground, winery, mountain/lake/vineyard highways, brother/sister visit.
Menu: roasted organic chicken, homemade rustic bread, treasured organic Greek olives which were oh so good, homemade pesto, grapes and cheese, potato salad and garden veggies.
Random: picked up tree-ripened picked-this-morning nectarines on the way home. They tasted like honey and sunshine and wine. Incredible. I also snagged some pretty romas for pizza tomorrow, and some just-picked apples for my insomnia moments. I love living in a region where you can see your produce growing all around you and make beautiful choices for your family’s plates.

We drove and splashed and played and ate and enjoyed. I sure do love this province. At one point, the boys were playing in the park and I was wading in the lake (nibbling the last of those treasured olives…) and I just stopped and looked. There were vineyards on the other shore and happy sun-kissed kiddos running around, and the water was so clear that I could see the pebbles and the little fingerling trout darting about. It felt like the Mediterranean, or what I imagine that could feel like.

We’re home on the ranch now. It’s about 15 degrees cooler on our mountain than it was in the wine valley. Rain clouds are brooding over the lake, Jeremiah is running around in big-boy-boxers and winter boots, and I’m about to go bake a sweet and sauce blackberry-nectarine crisp. (Note: I fear my amazing caution with food and carbs this pregnancy is suddenly shifting into “fruit and carbs now!!!”. Hence, crispy warm berry dessert for us this evening…. I just hope I don’t balloon into some terrifying creature these last weeks. Oh dear!).
Anyways!
So yes. We’re home and evening is here. The ranch is fairly busy and, as has become our custom in recent months, we’re going to stay tucked away. Our crisp will be served with a new’ish BBC feature (“The Way We Live Now”, anyone watching it?) once kiddo is in bed. Tomorrow means baking bread and soup and pizza, harvesting potatoes and carrots, and hiding away a little bit more.

I wish you all a most beautiful weekend as you savour these last days of summer and sunshine…..

Comments
3 Responses to “get away”
  1. thismama says:

    Aren’t days away lovely? This weekend has felt like that for us although we have spent it right here in town:)

  2. Lola says:

    Sounds lovely. I’m waiting for it to start feeling like we are home rather than “away”. Soon enough I suppose.

  3. mel says:

    sounds so lovely Dee! Glad you were able to get away:)

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,286 hits
  • Top Rated

