Tucking In


I’m two weeks away from due date #1, though personally think that this weekend would be just perfect for Baby Boy to make his appearance (once I’ve had a full night’s sleep though). While there can always be more to get ready, I feel like I’m basically getting on top of all the major things.
One of the most significant things has been tucking away a bit of food for when we come back after the birth. I was so blessed in the week following Jeremiah’s birth by my community of women who brought meals for several days. Sweet friends and mamas and even a few ‘just acquaintances’ made the effort to bring meals and loaves and greetings. I remember that I was a) ravenous!!! And ate everything in site B) fairly hormonal/emotional/exhausted and c) so so thankful.
 It’s almost impossible to explain the mental/emotional state that those first post-partum weeks bring. For me, those first couple days (in hospital) were ones of sheer elation and triumph. I did it! The baby was here! I was unstoppable! And then I came home and spent the next few weeks wanting to sleep, cry, and eat. So the point is, having that sweet community in place to offer such a noral and tangible gesture of support was incredible. This time around however, I don’t really have neighbours or friends or old church ladies lining up to feed me. So I’ve been workin’ on it myself.

While there’s still much more I’d like to put up, I think this is it. Here’s what I’ve tucked away, along with some hints for other mamas preparing for arrivals or other families just wanting some ideas for fall-fare.

–          Lentil burgers. I’ve mentioned these often! I have two dozen formed and frozen and just ready to be tossed on the cast iron.

–          Slow cooker bags: large Ziplocs filled with a mix of stuff that can just be dumped in the slow cooker. One has chili, another has a huge portion of pasta sauce, two have a very agreeable garden carrot soup which I am trying to resist simmering this weekend, another has some greek lemon rice soup.

–          Muffins. Brany and healthy and sure to disappear during those 3:00am moments. Like last night

–          Beans and lentils and rice. We work with dry beans and they generall require soaking and a good long cook on the stove. I soaked and cooked a bunch and froze them so we can just use them when needed. And rice is surprisingly resilient (if you’re not picking in the moment) with freezing. I cooked a jumbo pot of basmati when doing curry the other night, and tucked it away.

–          A couple typical casseroles (shepherds pie, that creamy hashbrown stuff, etc.) for those nights when I’ll stumble through the kitchen and ask Jer to pull something out for us.

–          Salmon!!! Wild and local and SO sooo good! It’s not cooked, but It’s in family sized portions which can roast or poach fairly quickly. SO so good.

–          Gnocchi (mentioned in other posts)

–          Chocolate zuchinni cake and carrot cake and banana loaf. Oh dear…I might need to head to the freezer right now….

–          A few breads, though they’re disappearing. Pan du champagne, corn bread, summerset rye….

–          Crisp topping. We LOVE fruit crisp for dessert. I came up with the very agreeable idea of making a jumbo (like, x5) amount of the topping and freezing it. It works great! A month from now when we want a warm and cozy dessert, we can just dump some berries into the pan and sprinkle on the topping. No mess or work. Oh, I should post that recipe….

I think that’s it. Ideally, I’d add some calzones, meatballs, quiches, and more dry mixes like pancakes and cookies to the collection, but I’m losing my kitchen energy and need to focus on some other things too.

What have you tucked away this fall? What great ideas do you have for helping feed the family in those first post-partum weeks? What’s simmering in your kitchen this weekend?

Happy Friday!!!

Comments
7 Responses to “Tucking In”
  1. Good job, Dee! I’m glad you will have those yummy foods to tide you over. We had a lot more ready-made meals the second time around and it made such a difference in making life feel doable after labor. 🙂

  2. Dana Fiorito says:

    Can you pa-lease post these recipes…you know, when you’ve got some time, ha! I’m so inspired by you to pack away some food but I just have so much to do….hmmm, I can barely get meals on the table in our current state let alone cook for the future. I love the idea of putting slow cooker stuff into a baggy and then just being able to dump it in. SO practical.

  3. thismama says:

    well last time…..I had….nothing. I was put on bed rest plus she came so early that I never had the chance.:(
    But some thing that I found that I really needed was healthy and readily available snack foods since I was crazy hungry constantly and that was when the unhealthy cravings kicked in for me.
    So we had different nuts, cheese, dried fruit, jerky, dark chocolate (for my intense sweet cravings) .I didn’t do this then but I would now…make up individual bags of fruit and veggie smoothie ingredients so that it was already prepped and I could just whip it up. Smoothies helped me a lot.

    • Dea' says:

      Ohh…good ideas Missy! Thanks! I remember with Jeremiah I got trapped by toast and cold cereal; easy, sweet, carby. Bad news! Nuts, fruit, and smoothies sound way better 🙂

      Dana, I’d LOVE to post more recipes. Sadly, actually getting a real ‘recipe’ together is a major weakness for me. Some dear gourmet friends and I are hoping to collaborate on a collection in the near-someday future, but I really need to get my act together and actually write things down as I create. I guess the thing to keep in mind with slow cooker freezer-bags is that you can have all the main stuff there (your meat chopped and browned, veggies tossed in, your basic sauce) and then season to taste once it’s simmering.

      Anyways. I made a pile of pancakes this morning and was able to freeze some for Jeremiah. I think it’ll be nice for him to have some favorite foods on hand for when his Baby Brother is snuggling with Mama.

      Thanks for the comments!

  4. acalmspirit says:

    Well, after my first child, I had my family surrounding me that fed me and took care of my hubby. My second came so fast, that I did not have even a crib set up or diapers made…but everything was taken care off again by family.

    The third one was a bit different. My little girl was born with special needs and that required a great deal of planning meals and the like. This time, I did plan ahead just like you and my family were find for the first 4 weeks of her birth.

    You are doing wonderfully…you are planning ahead for your family to be nourished and loved while you are a bit busy with your little one.

    Can you share the recipe of lentil burgers? We enjoy eating quite a bit of grain, but have not heard of this recipe.

    Thank you and be blessed!

    maria.

  5. acalmspirit says:

    oops! I found a typo in my comment – sorry 😦

    maria

  6. acalmspirit says:

    Well, after my first child, I had my family surrounding me that fed me and took care of my hubby. My second came so fast, that I did not have even a crib set up or diapers made…but everything was taken care off again by family.

    The third one was a bit different. My little girl was born with special needs and that required a great deal of planning meals and the like. This time, I did plan ahead just like you and my family were there for the first 4 weeks of her birth.

    You are doing wonderfully…you are planning ahead for your family to be nourished and loved while you are a bit busy with your little one.

    Can you share the recipe of lentil burgers? We enjoy eating quite a bit of grain, but have not heard of this recipe.

    Thank you and be blessed!

    maria.

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,284 hits
  • Top Rated

