bits of stuff


It’s cold out here, with loads more snow on the way. Yikes! Despite the weather, I’m planning on trekking out to our old Prairie town for some time with old friends and new kiddos. In many ways, it’s impractical: bad weather, busy kiddos, sleepy me, etc., but I’m realizing the importance of just ‘taking off’ somewhere on a regular basis.
See, my natural inclination is to hide in the basement and spend the day with fatty pants, oatmeal, and this laptop. I don’t like the thought of hauling kids on a -30 highway. I’m not the greatest ‘socializer’ at the best of times, even worse when I’m off of coffee and/or sleep.  And really, if I could nestle down into a pile of blankets and sleep winter away, I’d be just fine. But really, it’s because of these things I know how important it is to actually step upstairs and enjoy the community within the house. And it’s because of these things that I can see the need for me to pack a bag and drive a road and share life with other mamas and kids. As comfortable as it would be to hide away and avoid the world, life is meant to be shared. So yay for a road trip!

In other news….

The other day Jeremiah and I were in the backyard when he stopped and stared at a passing airplane. Stretching his hand as high as he could, and grasping with splayed fingers, he began to cry. “Mama! Mama plane! Reach it!”
“Sweetie”, I said practically, “You can’t reach it. It’s too high. You can’t fly.”
He sighed, dropped his hand, and seriously replies, “When I’m older….”
(love that boy!)

And sweet massive Knightley…is so huge he doesn’t fit most pants! He loves to smile, isn’t a huge fan of sleep, and spends most of the day half-dressed.  What is it with me making huge boys? Jeremiah has also gone through a growth spurt and is now running around in ‘capris’ since his shot out of all of his pants! (it’s not quite so cute with the shirts though…  😉 )

Anyways.
I quit coffee cold-turkey yesterday in one last effort to help Knightley sleep. It wasn’t so bad yesterday, but I’m pretty much comatose today (and look it!). Oh dear…. But, if it helps the babe then it’s worth it…right?

Okay. I should go do something productive in these last minutes before J arrives home.
How long ‘till someone ‘gets over’ caffeine???

Comments
8 Responses to “bits of stuff”
    • Dea' says:

      Lola, this is so interesting! Have you taken this? And if so, where did you purchase it? (I saw it onAmazon.com but can’t get it shipped up here….). Also, what do you think of taking it while bfeeding? I’ve noticed cautions…. I’d like to try it, but would love to hear more if you know it. Thanks!

      • Lola says:

        I’ve never drank coffee so i haven’t taken it but I’ve followed her blog because we eat the same way. I’m sure the cautions are probably way over “cautious” but that conclusion is without extensive research on my part. It looks quite interesting though and lots of people have had success with it.

        On a different note… I want you to read “Gut and Psychology syndrome” and tell me what you think. For some reason I feel like you will be good to bounce ideas around with. It was quite eye opening for me. Don’t be put off by the cover. It also plays into your quest for local affordable eating.

  1. thismama says:

    Excited to see you!!

  2. Kmarie says:

    Looking forward to seeing you miss:)

  3. My boy is outgrowing all of his clothes too. It’s crazy. There are some 18-month-old clothes that he barely fits into… at 8 months! I am finally learning that it’s okay to match my kids up with clothes that aren’t the same as their ages. 🙂

  4. Kit says:

    I’m jealous that you get to visit Three Hills again! I bet your hubby has something to do with your gigantic boys 😉 My baby Phinehas seems like the biggest baby I’ve had so far. At 5 months he weighs 15 lbs!

    • Dea' says:

      15 pounds at 5 months?? We think Knightley is around 20 pounds at 3 1/2 months!! (and you should come to Three Hills too!)

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,298 hits
  • Top Rated

