Oh The Places You’ll…Wait


The night before J began his EMT courses, I present him with a gift. It was a little dorky and to be shared with Jem, but the message within it was exactly what I wanted him to hear. The gift was “Oh The Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss. It’s one of my favorites, as well as one that I hope to share with the boys as they grow.
Each section could be shared as a reflection to this journey (ha, and likely will be at some point!) but these days this one really stands out to me. For all the adventure and roller-coaster moments of the past three years, we have often, and in some ways have again, entered ‘The Waiting Place’.

“The Waiting Place…for people just waiting.
Waiting for a train to go or a bus to come, or a plane to go or the mail to come, or the rain to go or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow or waiting around for a Yes or No or waiting for their hair to grow. Everyone is just waiting.
Waiting for the fish to bite or waiting for wind to fly a kite or waiting around for Friday night or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake or a pot to boil, or a Better Break or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants or a wig with curls, or Another Chance. Everyone is just waiting….”

We’re in motion and busy and working towards something, but there’s still that tinge of ‘treadmill’ within it as I can’t really see us getting anywhere just yet. We don’t know where J’s practicum will place him. We don’t know where our space of ‘home’ will be six months from now. We have no ability to plan beyond a few weeks ahead. We’re waiting on courses to be finished and debts to be paid and roads to open up to the new ‘real’ journey.
The Waiting Place doesn’t feel real itself some days. It’s just this hazy floating space where we try to live normally but we know there’s really nothing normal about it. Everyone’s just waiting…. I think the secret (well, the not-so-secret, but the difficult) is to somehow live within the waiting place with energy and light and a sense of embrace. I can know that it’s not forever, that someday we’ll have a better picture of where we’re going and how, but I can also appreciate that it’s not going to happen today.

I guess it’s like seeing the beauty in winter. There’s a lot of snow accumulated outside, and more falling even now. It’s beautiful in its shimmering white; whipped drifts and quilted mounds. In my heart, I want spring. I want to plant and see growth and have some evidence of a real harvest coming. But for now, we wait. We literally cannot plant anything out there now; any attempt would simply die and distort the beauty that’s seen in that sleepy frozen white. I can’t force the season to change before it’s time. It’s a force beyond me. The season is here for a Good greater than myself as the lands rests and the waters gather for future planting, future growth. There’s a beauty in the waiting, if I’ll still my heart and wait with it.

Comments
3 Responses to “Oh The Places You’ll…Wait”
  1. mel says:

    amen and amen. there is so much beauty in waiting. And I love that book…makes me cry!

  2. Kmarie says:

    One of my favs too- the kids love it. A very profound piece of literature in it’s innocent simplicity.

    I agree waiting is beautiful and the most growth is actually happening now- underneath the ground is quivering waiting and preparing for when the first seed gets planted. The winter teaches more attributes than the easy beauty of summer. So glad to know someone else perceives some of winter as beautiful too!

  3. sadie says:

    What a beautiful post my friend. I can’t wait for us to catch up more in person!

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,284 hits
  • Top Rated

