evening


I just got in from an evening out. By ‘evening out’ I mean me and the baby browsing the organic bulk aisle and then swinging by the meat shop. Oh sweet simple pleasures ….

I bagged lentils, quinoa, and oats. Feeling a little food-venturous, we decided to package up some millet. With the week’s Big Bread Bake penciled in for the morning, I loaded up some nice dark rye flour. Finally, we stopped at our (local, natural, friendly, and overall lovely…) little meat shop. I ordered a nicely priced freezer pack and was pleasantly surprised when they subbed in some bison ribs since they were out of beef. (The bison was still sporting a separate price tag valued at half the price of the entire box of meat! What a treat!).

With the baby deliriously sleepy, we loaded our stash then paused. Even in the city parking lot, we could feel that hazy warm shift that comes with a prairie spring. It’s a mix of dirt and marsh, sunset and baby greens. It’s not the same sweet wet glory that we soak in on that Coastal Valley, and it’s not quite so crisp and clean as That Mountain we came from, but it’s moist enough and fresh enough to speak of growth and living things. It’s enough for an evening of foray. It’s enough for our season.

Now this day is closing and my feet are finally (finally!) up. That babe gave in to sleep. His elder comrade tucked in with a new willow bow and arrow (which really merits a post in itself). Their Papa is settling with a glass of port and that 100-year old edition of The Count of Monte Cristo. My  stash of grains and meat is almost put away.

An evening out, and now evening comes in.

Comments
5 Responses to “evening”
  1. Becca says:

    Your such a wonderful writer. I love to read your posts. Sounds like a lovely evening out. I love your description of the prairie. We’re reading “Little town on the Prairie” right now and Spring is blooming in our book as well. Enjoy your eve!

  2. Kristin says:

    You have such a wonderful way with words that even writing about a trip to the store sounds magical. Thanks for sharing your life and breathing a bit more beauty into the world!

  3. Lola says:

    I can almost smell the prairie spring. Here it’s mixed with salty air. I’ve never tried Bison and I’m pretty sure I need to.

  4. Kmarie says:

    It’s always so gratifying to hear you are content. Did that book arrive? I hope I sent it right this time!:)
    Wishing you many more moments of simple gratification.

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,290 hits
  • Top Rated

