Milk from a different kinda cow


I love milk.
I hate milk.
We have one of those relationships.

As a child, I was lactose intolerant. The symptoms lifted in my late teens, only to return during high-stress periods of college, graduate studies, and work. That seems to be how it goes even now; I can enjoy dairy-goodness for several months, and then I’ll suddenly take issue again (stomach, skin, etc). Weird.

The girls in our shared house seem to struggle with some dairy products, so my SisIL has moved them to rice and almond milk. I’ve been intrigued by these products for a few years, but haven’t been a fan of the price or some of the extra ingredients. Today however, with the boys doing a (glorious!) shared nap time, I decided to make some of my own and see what happened. It was well worth it!

Using only 1/2 cup of rice, I harvested a fairly large container (aprox 8cups worth!) of ‘milk’. While it won’t full anyone as dairy when taken straight from the glass, it’s definitely an economical and healthy alternative. We’ll use ours for green tea, smoothies, hot chocolate, and maybe some baking (we’ll see). It’s really so easy and so cheap, it’s difficult not to be super excited 😉

[Note: No matter what milk issues, I think real RAW milk would be amazing! If I’m ever able to have a cow or a goat, or live in a country where purchasing raw milk is legal, than my family will definitly partake. I’m fairly certain we’d have less dairy issues all around if the milk we were drinking wasn’t over -medicated or over-processed. But that’s a few other hundred posts in itself ;)’]

Anyways.
This recipe is bits and pieces from many sources online (sorry…that’s terrible credit but the browser windows closed and I just can’t track them all down again!) . I’m sure there are lots of modications and methods to play with, but this is what we did today:

1/2 cup rice, rinsed (i used white basmati, but I think any type would work)
8 cups water
some sea salt
2 or 3 tbsp honey
1 tbsp olive oil (I’m sure there are lots of oils you could try here)
1 tsp vanilla (this could be increased if you want more of a ‘beverage’ than a milk sub’.
(other options: cinnamon, chocolate….)

– Bring rice and water to a boil, then cover and turn to low for about 3 hours.
– Pour rice, water, and remaining ingredients into blender. Blend throughly until everything is liquified.
– Pour into cheese cloth on a strainer, strain into bowl
– Thin (with water) to desired consistency

Store, covered, for up to one week.

straining rice for 'milk'

it works!

Comments
4 Responses to “Milk from a different kinda cow”
  1. How interesting! We use rice milk now and then but I’ve never attempted making it. We have all of those ingredients… and you make it sound so doable… okay, I want to try it!

  2. Lola says:

    I’m the same with dairy… I don’t get stomach issues but within six hours I get a headache that takes about three days to go away and angry scalp. I can manage butter but I do better on Ghee because it’s the casein that bugs me. The rice milk looks great. I’m making almond milk soon. the first thing I’m going to make with it is a london fog.

  3. Kit says:

    Nice!!! Question, I have been wanting to find a to find a rice that hasn’t had to be “enriched”. Any suggestions??

  4. Kit says:

    Also. What you strained might make great baby food!!

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,299 hits
  • Top Rated

