What I’ve learned during this first ‘new’ week (so far!)

–          Smile! Toddlers and babies take awhile to adjust. My particular three year old seems to find the change particularly challenging. IN response, I could get increasinbgly frustrated as the day goes on, or learn to stop, breathe, smile, and get a bit more creative (‘fart kisses’ help lighten any situation 😉 )

–          Don’t print out five of the ‘ultimate planned schedule’ before you’ve lived it. I’ve learned that each day is a LOT longer now than before. I’ve also realized that we need some major outdoor/active time in the morning if we’re going to really wake up and get the day going.

–          Getting dressed (in ‘real’ clothes), wiping the boys faces, and leaving the house tidy just needs to be a habit. You never know who you might bump into at the playground or who will knock on the door unexpectedly. Today I came home after a great random visit and realized that I looked like I had been living in the chicken house!

–          People don’t need an explanation. People don’t want an explanation. Really, the fact that there wasn’t a job and now there is, or that Jer’s away, or that I’m sleepy, really doesn’t have to be part of conversation. Get over it. Live. (and there’s a whole blog post simmering on that!)

–          I can be anti-social if I want to be. That’s just fine.

–          I’m pregnant. I have kids at home. It’s difficult to catch the cardio class. I’m not going to look like those tight hot mama’s skippin’ around town. Every season has it’s brown spots and this time ‘round it’s my jigglin’ thighs. Gonna get over it 😉

–          A load of laundry might take two days. Oh well.

–          Morning cake is totally acceptable.

–          The best laid plans are still just plans. Step back and submit to God, especially in the small stuff.

Well, the hooligans are finally quiet, the chickens are hungry, the dishes are sitting, and I’m trying to convince myself that I really do want to paint that chalkboard area tonight. Hmm. A bath and book sounds tempting.

Random post. Be well.

Comments
4 Responses to “”
  1. Sara L says:

    Oh yes, yum, morning cake! What did you think of that? Good on you, I think you’ve got great ideas here!

    • Dea' says:

      I was just about to write you to say: The cake was AWESOME!!! I loooooved it and want the recipe! Thanks again for sharing! SUCH the perfect treat in that wonky morning! (I even shared a bite with Jmiah 😉 )

  2. Sara L says:

    I know! You’d never guess there’s no flour in it! Meegan is tearing apart my entryway… later!

  3. Kit says:

    I personally am a fan of the fart kisses.

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,286 hits
  • Top Rated

