morning


I’m cozied up in my dark bedroom. First cup of coffee.Screen. Blankets. I can hear the boys chatting to each other; Jeremiah explaining Curious George, the Alphabet, and other lofty things to his little brother, who seems to be quite engaged with all kinda of grunts and chatter and chirrs in response.

There is something about the morning, isn’t there? Even with blurred vision and frizzy hair, growing bellies and slow-rising sun, the morning brings that pause and glance towards hope.

For most of us, today will be brimming over with lists and tasks and all kinds of opportunities. For some, evening will bring tears instead of laughter. But in these minutes, as the sun begins her slow ascent and baby boys chatter, everything seems possible.

Give ear to my words, O LORD,

Consider my meditation.

Give heed to the voice of my cry,

My King and my God,

For to You I will pray.

My voice You shall hear in the morning, O LORD;

In the morning I will direct it to You,

And I will look up.

 

Comments
4 Responses to “morning”
  1. Anonymous says:

    sigh. Exactly what I was doing an hour ago Dee. Thank you for the reflection. I love hearing my kids together. Today Connor got up, went into Sophie’s room and shut the door. They played for awhile and Malia and I got to rest quietly. It was lovely.
    So excited for this next little one to join the family. 🙂 May you have many more mornings like this one…

  2. Kmarie says:

    Because if depression lately I never feel that hope . I just think, “please god help me get thru one mire day and help me to be useful to someone positively even when I feel negative.”

    Pretty sad to me even but ur morning sounds beautiful. I hope to have days of anticipation.

  3. Kmarie says:

    Ok I wish I could not type from my iPhone! Winder why my computer will not comment on wordpress. Weird. Mistakes galore! Please excuse the above misspells. I wrote more on my blog about depression. Stop on by and tell me how you dream;)

  4. EB says:

    hey dee. I love this post. I read your blog lots. it’s a poetic story and I feel like your little man j’ is a story book waiting to happen! that guy has personality. I adore that pic of him praying. you should DEF blow that up or submit it to a photo contest. It’s the sweetest little boy pic and I can’t imagine how you captured that! hahah sweet idea taking a camera to church! lol anyways. i love your mornings. I have actually thought over and over this week about Lamentations 3:23…his mercies begin a afresh each day. ahhh…..that is relief if ever there was. thanks for writing this out for us.
    EB from PEI

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,290 hits
  • Top Rated

