A few years back, a friend introduced me to Richard Rohr (well, his teachings and books and such). Since then, I’ve gained much from his guidance and insight. A friar, a catholic ‘mystic’ (ohh…scary words! 😉 ), and a man of faith gifted with vision towards losing self and embracing Christ, he’s worth the read/listen.

These days, I’ve been loving Rohr’s ‘Daily Meditations’ in my inbox. A glimpse from today:

When Job’s life is about to be taken away from him, he can say one of two things. He can curse God, as he is tempted to do, and say, “God, why not fifty-one years of life?” Or he can surrender to love and say, “God, why even fifty years?” Why did I deserve life at all? When we take on that attitude, we’ve made a decision for grace.

“Naked I came into the world, and naked I will leave,” Job says (Job 1:21). What do we have, brothers and sisters, that has not been given to us? All is grace. All is given. Who gave me this hand? Who wiggles these fingers? Who created these eyes which I cannot explain or understand? I cannot even make this hair grow. It is all gift.

From beginning to end, everything is grace, everything is given. There is nothing that we have a right to or that we deserve.

Adapted from Radical Grace: Daily Meditations, pp. 207-208
(Source: Days of Renewal)

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,286 hits
  • Top Rated

