Does anyone else feel like this week is flying by? This month, the days have been full and a bit too long, while the nights have been too short for my liking, and surprisingly full themselves! This week however, there’s much to do and much done, and the days are moving along. Perhaps it’s the fact that I have the other parent in the house tending to the first morning hour, or that the desperate need for high-energy play is being tended to with these high-energy lads. Also, J and I have finally had a more cohesive evening of family and conversation and smiling-eyes; an appreciated shift from the past three days of ‘catching up’ on annoyances, questions, and general marital discussions of the lesser sort. Who knew this kind of lifestyle could be so complicated?

Anyways.

As evening descends on the last day of November, I’m feeling tinges of excitement. This year I have found bits of time and motivation to better prepare for Christmas. My hope for December? A whole lot of sharing, teaching, understanding, celebration, treats, and fun. We’re going to do Christmas well.

This month, watch for daily (that could be a stretch, but I’m going to try) glimpses into our family Christmas. I’ll be sharing excerpts from our Advent reflections, photos and tutorials for some new seasonal crafting, recipes, reflections, and some general Christmas chatter.

But for this last day of November, and our first truly decent dump of snow for the year, I just have to say that I made one of the best soupy-chowder-pots ever!!! It began as a hope for fish chowder, morphed into potato-corn, and ended as a fantastic mix of proteins, fats, and seasonings. The exact measurements are sketchy, and I won’t go so far as to call this a recipe, but if you feel like something healthy and savory this week I’ll share a starting point.

Not-quite-recipe for a Not-Quite Chowder

¼ cup butter
1 whole white onion (finely diced)
4 cloves garlic (crushed)
6 slices bacon (diced)
2 cups fish (I had a beautiful steelhead trout on hand. Other fish, including salmon, basa, cod, and halibut, would be great)
4 carrots (grated)

½ cup coconut milk
2 cups leftover garlic mashed potatoes (I know, random. I’m sure grated or cubed potatoes would be great as well)
6 cups Quality Chicken Bone Broth (I think this might have been the thing that made it so great. I used bone broth that I had started simmering yesterday morning. Bascially, two free-range chicken carcasses, water, a tablespoon of vinegar, and about 5 whole cloves of garlic. It simmered through until mid-morning today and was just SO good!)
1 can kernel corn
1 tbsp oregano
1 tbsp ‘Italian’ seasoning
½ tsp ground ginger
salt and pepper to taste

Heat pot or frying pan. Add butter and garlic, then all the first set of ingredients to simmer up a nice roux.
Mix the next set of ingredients in your soup pot, add in the first.
Simmer. Serve with fluffy cheese biscuits or a hearty loaf.

SO tasty!!!

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,290 hits
  • Top Rated

