On the first day of Christmas…Advent Calendar!


This year, I hoped to create an affordable, original, and meaningful advent calendar for my boys. I’ve similar intentions in previous years, but I’ve also had a very persistent case of procrastination with all things seasonal. Sadly, I’m one of those people who thinks of the ultimate birthday gift to mail across the country, on a person’s birthday.

This year I began in November with a fun calendar idea:
A fridge calendar of tiny little magnetic containers, highlighted by a festive title (crafted by my Millie), ‘allowable’ treats (fruit pieces and ‘real fruit’ gummies), and meaningful figures and reflections (nativity stickers and excerpts, paired with the gradual appearance of the boys first nativity scene which you’ll catch glimpses of in coming posts).

The idea seemed great (if I say so myself… 😉 ) and I was really excited as I put it together and waited for the last night of November to display it on the fridge, ready for the dawn of December.  BUT, I somehow didn’t plan for my magnets to refuse to stick to my little treat buckets! All night I kept hearing tiny thuds as my grand plan fell to the floor 😦 This morning I picked up crazy glue and tried to redo it. Unfortunately, it just left me with crazy-glued fingers and a bowl of magnetless treats.

Soo…I still think it’s a fun idea, but next year I might try those magnetic spice containers, or a string with little clothes pins and little bags or stockings or…something that works. But, the boys are still excited, the contents for each day are still fun and festive, and I know I got a little closer to conquering my seasonal procrastination.

Do you use advent calendars in your family? If so, what kind?

Do you enjoy having them as a ‘treat based’ observance or do you bring other aspects of family or faith into the countdown?
What are other ways of counting down the days until Christmas?

crafting and planning

it almost kinda sort of worked.... Just needs some help.

Comments
6 Responses to “On the first day of Christmas…Advent Calendar!”
  1. thismama says:

    That does sound like a great idea! I have thought of doing an advent calendar a few times…making a felt nativity or something like that. I also like the ones that an activity for the day with/with out a treat. I am not sure why exactly but I kind of shy away from the treats ones…
    This year though, my mom sent the girls one that has a little book with a part of the story for each day and they quite thrilled with it.

  2. Kmarie says:

    Cute. Ok so we have this gorgeous wooden calendar that opens from Costco. We can put anything in it and it also is home to one Tiny decoration in it to hang. We got if from Costco but if Jeremy wants to look at it he can make one too… Costco usually has a different one every year.
    Hope u find something!

    • Dea' says:

      Thanks!
      We’re making this one work, just holding the containers in a bowl for now (…until I can get hold of a glue gun!)

  3. thismama says:

    Oh and I know that crazy glue is supposed to hold anything, but for magnets, you might find that using a hot glue gun would work the best.

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,282 hits
  • Top Rated

