That Sugar Cookie Recipe


This week, Jeremiah has his special Christmas/Parents day at preschool. It was well done; a couple of hours shared over crafting stations, stories, and play centers, with much less conflict and three-year old shenanigans than I expected!
As we sat down at the Cookie Decorating Station, I realized I was near something special. The sugar cookies in front of me looked thick and almost moist instead of thin and crisp. Hmm…. Unbeknown to those around me, I had been on a ‘certain kind of perfect sugar cookie recipe’ for years. As I smoothed (ridiculously wonderfully buttercream) icing over them, a little angel cut-out suddenly leaped into my mouth for a sample. Honestly, I was powerless to stop it!And that’s where my journey for the perfect sugar cookie ended. Dense and chewy; sweet with a hint of vanilla, thick enough to handle heavy buttercream, tasty enough for second taste by someone who generally avoids wheat flour and white sugar—the cookie for which I had been searching.

Circulating with crumbed lips and icing’d fingers, I found the parent who had brought the goods. His wife (Kristin) was generous enough to share the recipe, as posted below. I hope to make up a batch later today so the boys can do some tomorrow. I also realize I’ll need to freeze or give most of them unless I want to end up with one fat sugar baby in the delivery room! Let me know if you try them, and how they turn out.

Kristin’s Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

2 C sugar

1 C butter (the recipe actually calls for margarine but, well….)

2 eggs

2 tsp soda

1 tsp vanilla

1 C milk

2 C flour or more (up to 5)

Cream margarine and sugar together, add beaten eggs and beat again. Dissolve soda and vanilla in milk and add to first mixture.  Add part of flour and blend till smooth.  Keep adding flour till dough can be rolled out and cut in favorite style.  (The flour that you add works out to be about 5 Cups.) For best cutouts, place in fridge for the night. Sprinkle sugar on top or decorate with icing.
350* oven for around 10 minutes or until bottoms begin to get golden, depending on oven. (makes a big batch!)

Comments
6 Responses to “That Sugar Cookie Recipe”
  1. thismama says:

    I wonder how these would work as using gf flour. This is the time of year when gluten free is hard for me, because I want to pull out our family recipes of delicious shortbreads, butter tarts, pumpkin roll, sugar cookies…..but alas. Some of them I know that they will work well gf but the others…..well not so much and especially this year I just don’t want to spend the time (and money on ingredients) if they don’t turn out.

    • Dea' says:

      I’ve been wondering the same thing! I’m tempted to experiment…. I’m already changing the marg’ to butter, but that’s not a big deal. My thing lately has been subbing in ground oatmeal for all my wheat flours. I imagine it would change these quite a bit. I’m also wondering how honey would work. Ha, I’m not even sure I have white sugar in this house! Hmm…. Let me know if you experiment 🙂

  2. thismama says:

    Well, I have a gf, honey version sitting in the fridge for tomorrow…we will see. I also couldn’t wait so I took some of the batter, added some orange zest, ginger, cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a few grinds of black pepper, and baked them up. Overcooked them a little so made them a bit dryer than is good but they are tasty:).

  3. thismama says:

    So I cooked them up and they worked! I did a mix of flours that I would like to tweak further (still too much rice flour) and subbed honey for about half the sugar. I used about six cups of flour (I weighed in grams though) and stopped adding as soon as the dough wasn’t too sticky. Kept the dough in the fridge overnight and rolled it out between wax paper for cutouts. Cooked them for six minutes (GF often takes less I find), cooled them and iced them with this butter cream recipe http://www.thekitchenmagpie.com/how-to-make-the-best-butter-cream-icing#comment-7198. Seriously it is a good one!
    Of course I had to try one and they are tasty! ( I won’t lie, I don’t believe the gf could taste as good as the original but they are good) AND they don’t crumble:).

    • Dea' says:

      Ohh, good work! Haha, I just found Kitchen Magpie’s icing section last night and am super excited!! I made some dough last night and of course had to tweak it and now I’m annoyed cuz they aren’t so great. INstead of 2 cups white sugar I did 1 cup honey and 1/2 cup white. I didn’t add nearly enough flour so the dough was sticky and almost unworkable. I got enough basic cookies for the boys to decorate, but I must admit that the ones brought to the preschool tasted WAY better. Oh well, guess I’ll keep trying 😉 (you should post your recipe 🙂 )

  4. Ashley says:

    Made a half batch this AM and it was still A LOT! Yummy! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,298 hits
  • Top Rated

