Today was so full of circles (The dizzying kind! not the sweet swell of cycles but the nauseating spin of “let me off I’m gonna be sick!”). I started too early and with too much snow to drive to the too-valuable appointment which was too far away. Everything spun along from there. But we are nearing the end of the day now. The wild ones are wrestling and wriggling into bed and I expect to tuck in at a childishly early hour.

I’m tired and feeling somewhat stretched, but all for reasons of my own choosing; my own schedule, my own tasks and delays and obsessions. What I’m not feeling is expectant or peaceful or ready for the Advent of our Lord. I don’t even have a good reason. I’m not pregnant. I’m not alone. I have far more than I need….

But some days, things just spin so quickly and churn about with such force. I just wish the whole world would pause.

and breathe
and wait to hear…the silence…
and the Chorus…
and the labouring groan…
and the newborns cry…
and then settle into whatever scratchy stall we’ve been given…

for Rest.

Come Lord Jesus. Stop the rush and descend upon us this first Advent week.

{And on another note, just because it was SO awesome, here’s a link that I thought was so fitting for so many families in the midst of the holidays, the gatherings, the desires, and the reality}

IMG_1542 IMG_1390

Comments
4 Responses to “”
  1. Marissa says:

    Ah friend. I just wrote about where I am at this season, my chaos, my struggle. And then I talked for an hour and half with a wise friend how my real life is not believed because everyone wants to see my picture perfect life. I need to go to bed and sleep so I am going to simply say that I hope you experience “come Lord Jesus”in the midst of where you are right now.

  2. Anonymous says:

    People like you and couple other friends of mine are so interesting to me. You can just get so much more done in a day than most. It is amazing! These days that are so stretching and dizzying are good if for no other reason than to teach us to appreciate calm when we get some. If everything is always easy breezy then we expect it to always be that way, we get so we can’t handle stress and noise. Dare I say we get old and grumpy? Enjoy your well earned sleep!

  3. Kmarie says:

    I really get this;) I love momestry;) Glennon is fabulous;) it’s neat to see your comment among the hundreds… A face of the familiar;) I always comment as Audrey on there ( typically)
    It’s in the daily;)
    Carry on warrior;)

  4. Kit Lagoon Gonzales says:

    I echo this cry so deeply.

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,296 hits
  • Top Rated

