When the dust unsettles


Saturday mornings are enjoyable for all in our family. The boys receive ‘games and shows day’, J connects with sons and friends, and I leave the house to study. This past Saturday was much the same, except for one thing: upon returning home I discovered that my {ambitious, spontaneous, challenging} husband had torn out our little kitchen and decided to renovate.

I’m all for spontaneous!
Take off on a road trip days before Christmas? Sure! Start a new business/job/vocation? Yay! Make…cake? All over it! But… tear out my kitchen in the deep of winter, at the height of ‘intense parenting’, in the midst of exams, days before I’m hosting a special event and before preparing a separate meal for forty people…without giving even an hour’s notice…and then ask “what’s for supper?”?

IMG_0516   IMG_0547

Not lovin’ it.

After rescuing the bread dough from under the dry wall and the baby from the tool box, I directed the older boys towards glue and cardboard and took some time to steam, I mean, meditate.

IMG_0553

The fact was I had plans, important plans. I was behind in my studies, coming out of a week of emotional overload, and had been looking towards a shared day off as a family. But, as I’ve noted in this space time and again: life is messy, love is wild, and God is now.

I heard him call through the drywall haze, “If you want it to go faster…you can help!”

{Honestly. This man….}

Breathe. Collect kiddos.  And…dig in.

IMG_0571IMG_0581

Here’s the thing:

We all have plans and they’re all important. We’re on paths and schedules and merry-go-rounds and trains that just don’t stop. But that’s not the best of living Life: that’s reflecting on pretty ideas. But ideas worth living aren’t really that pretty at all.

IMG_0546IMG_0606IMG_0611

Learning patience requires the option of being impatient.
Learning service requires serving.
Gratitude must first witness need so help can be received. Then, we are thankful.

IMG_0574

The list goes on.

So many points of dank and dirty learning come in the haze of plans overturned.
A baby, now? Yes, grow into Me. His job…gone? Yes, fall onto Me. Our home, moving? Yes, walk on with me. The money, done? Yes, discover Me. I am bread and water and I am path and I am home.
Move from pages to the path and get your feet dirty so I might wash them clean.

IMG_0563

{So we worked and I pondered {my heart thinks best when my hands are busy}. The days have been long but it’s been fun. We’ve had to get creative with the boys; inviting them in, directing them out, guiding their hands, pausing with their own messy lessons, but we’ve seen progress. Now, at the end of this day, I have half a kitchen, a whole marriage, and a lot more to ponder in the dust.}

IMG_0556IMG_0540IMG_0619

Thoughts? Comments? Hmm....

  • Blog Stats

    • 100,290 hits
  • Top Rated

